Replaced driver side 70 challenger inner fender

Before Picture

Before Picture

???????????????????????????????After Sandplasting & Primer

IMG_1817Removed Old Inner Fender with spot weld bits from Harbor Freight

IMG_1819Test Fit of New Inner Fender

IMG_1822 Look no inner fender

Replaced driver side 70 challenger inner fenderNew Inner Fender welded in.

I got this inner fender for my 1970 dodge Challenger from http://www.yearone.com. It was one of the cheaper ones without the black coating, so I sanded it and primed it with some dupli-color. It took me a little while to install it but it looks alot better than the one that was full of holes, especially around where the battery tray was. I used spot weld cutters from Harbor Freight. I tried a more expensive one but it didn’t last either. These don’t last real long, but they are cheap and all you need to do is take a little drill bit and drill a little hole first for the spot weld cutter to keep from ‘drifting’. http://www.harborfreight.com/3-8-eighth-inch-double-sided-rotary-spot-weld-cutter-95343.html The real test will be when I get the fenders bolted on and the hood placed and everything lines up ok.

This entry was posted in Car Show, Hobbies, Mopars. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Replaced driver side 70 challenger inner fender

  1. Chris says:

    Scott, great articles. I think this will be a big help to me since I will be doing many of the same repairs to my 70 challenger. I need to replace the trunk floor, front floor pan and some patch work to the inner front fenders. What’s the latest on your car?

Leave a comment